Gala Piece 01: Halloween Cosplay 2016

Hello everyone! Ahhhhh it’s been a long time since I posted the last article!! Sorry for the delay, I promise you I’m putting the edges of the puzzle together! ᕙ(⇀‸↼‶)ᕗ

How was your Halloween? Did you guys dress up and go somewhere fun? My sister and I hosted a party at our house, it was crazy (busy)!! XD

Hehehe… as a cosplayer in training, I wouldn’t let this chance slips out of my hands, therefore, this year I made my own costume!! Guess who I cosplay as? It was Howl from Miyazaki’s <<Howl’s Moving Castle>> It was amazing! (except my chubby body, still have to lose weight… щ(ಥДಥщ)~)


img_8566
Whenever I need motivation on making costumes, I just look at the character’s picture~ (n˘v˘n)~

I can say, I did learned something from this project:

  •  Go Big Or Go Home – If you making the costume (I meant if it contains quite a lot of sewing), it is better to get fabric for everything, otherwise just buy a full-made, especially for jacket!! I broke a needle because I was sewing a piece of fabric on the already-made jacket, as the machine is sewing through the shoulder patch, it bended the needle, and I was stupid enough to try bending it back with a plier without heating the needle, and it broken in half… (╥_╥)
  • Profession Takes Practices – I was so serious about this project, I started practicing the makeup for Howl, 3 – 4 times before Halloween; because I love Howl so much, and I wouldn’t want to screw up his reputation. ~(n˘v˘•)¬
  • Plan Everything – What you gonna be? How you gonna make it (everything: clothes, hair, accessories, shoes)? When you gonna start making it (timing is so important, I was still finishing the costume an hour before the party (X_X)”)?

Phew~ It was a close call, haha~ Here are some pictures of the process and the result:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I had some difficulties on cutting the right size of pink diamonds and sleeves for the jacket, let’s just say making clothes require good math skills ~( ̄▽ ̄)~

15045269_1324852060899533_45203919_o

I mentioned this on Instagram, I honestly don’t know where I came up with that idea, and I don’t even know how I pulled it together. XD

How much did this puzzle(cosplay) costed?

Clothes: 
-Jacket: it is from a second hand store -------------------------- $3.50
-Top: also from second hand store -------------------------------- $6.99
-Bottom: second hand store --------------------------------------- $2.50
-Fabric - I got:
  1/4 yard for the lower part of the sleeves --------------------- $0.74
  1/2 yard for yellow ribbons ------------------------------------ $1.00
  1 yard for the interior (probably should get 1 1/4 yard) ------- $2.50
  1 1/2 yard for sleeves and diamond patterns -------------------- $4.46
                                                            Total: $21.69+tax

Wig: China online store(long wig, I put half of it inside the wig) $3.79+shipping
Shoes: Can't remember, most black shoes will work --------------- ~$20.00
Necklace+Earrings: I made them with hot gule and sharpie -------- ~$0.10
Color Contact Lens: ~$25.00/box (8 pairs)------------------------ ~$3.13
                                                            Total: $46.65

And~~~ Here is the result(of course with some help of Photoshop, ww)!!

Ta-da!!~~ (ノ◕ヮ◕)ノ*:・゚✧

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Thanks for reading, hope you enjoy this post. Share your Halloween story at the comment section, I would love to read it! Hope you had a magicial Halloween! (-´ ᗢ `-)/~❁*:・゚✧

Leave a Reply

