2016 Reflection 01: I Did My 1st Anime Los Angeles Wrong

Hi everyone! Did you go to any anime events this year? I went to Anime Los Angeles and Anime Expo this year. This year is my first year gone to ALA, and it’s my 4th year gone to AX; although they are both anime related, but I can feel they are pretty different, I will talk about the differences in the future posts, now, Let’s talk about ALA! (ノ◕ヮ◕)ノ*:・゚✧


As a freshman in ALA, I didn’t do a good job on preparing myself to go to the event; ALA was hosted during school days, although it was during the weekend, I didn’t have enough time to fully prepare for a new cosplay, because I didn’t know about the event until 2 days before I’m going, with school and work, good cosplay just couldn’t happen.

I was quite happy and excited, until I saw the whole outfit on me and realized ALA is more about cosplay than just walking around about exhibit hall… Now I think of it… I should have just go as Juuzou without the sickle! (I went to AX 2015 as Juuzou and broke the sickle, that’s why I decided not to go as him to ALA) (ι´Д`)ノ


So, who did I go as at ALA?

I went as N-Near from Death Note.

neardeathnote

Here is a picture of me in a costume by myself.

me-as-n

And here is a picture of me with other cosplayers.

Me w. other coser.jpg

TAT!!! I looked like a cleaning lady with white wig on!!!


What I did wrong for ALA:

  • Lack of information about the event.
  • Lack of sleep and leaded me to grumpy mood.
  • Lack of preparation for my cosplay.

From this cosplay and the experience of ALA, I learned:

  • Make sure to have enough time to plan and make the costume, if there’s not enough time, cosplay previous characters you have cosplayed as, or just go in casual wear.
  • Make sure to not get too excited/nervous the night before, go to bed early, and wake up early for the perfect cosplay you’ve been preparing for.

Overall, I pretty like ALA, because I do like cosplay more than walking in between booths to find the most value price for the same product (personality of a Cancer =_=V I usually buy things online, they are cheaper that way, and more new items, not because I don’t want to help small business, but I’ve seen too much of the truth TvT, don’t get me wrong though, I still walk around to find pretty fan arts in the events) If you interested on where I find anime treasures other than in anime event, leave me a comment down below or send me a message!

Thank you for reading! And I will see you in next post! (-´ ᗢ `-)/~❁*:・゚✧

Leave a Reply

